Short Bio
AIM Institute

Chenyang Lu

Director, AI for Health Institute (AIHealth)

Fullgraf Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Professor of Anesthesiology and Medicine

Director, Cyber-Physical Systems Laboratory (CPSL)

Washington University in St. Louis

Research on AI for Health

Editor-in-Chief, ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems




AI and IoT for Medicine (AIM)

Cyber-Physical Systems Laboratory (CPSL)

Real-Time Virtualization and Edge Computing (RT-Xen)

Samples of Completed Projects


Selected Talks

Open-Source Software

PhD Students


  • Charles Alba
  • Rahav Dor: Edge Computing
  • Hangyue Li
  • Hanyang Liu: Machine Learning for Healthcare
  • Ruiqi Wang: Edge Computing
  • Ziqi Xu: Machine Learning for Healthcare
  • Bing Xue: Machine Learning for Healthcare
  • Jingwen Zhang: Internet of Medical Things for Healthcare
  • Ruixuan Dai (PhD 2022): Software Engineer, Google.
  • Dingwen Li (PhD 2021): Research Engineer, QCraft.
  • Haoran Li (PhD 2021): Software Engineer, Amazon.
  • Yehan Ma (PhD 2020): Assistant Professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University.
  • Chong Li (PhD 2020): Software Engineer, Ant Group.
  • Chao Wang (PhD 2019, with Chris Gill): Assistant Professor, National Taiwan Normal University.
  • Dolvara Gunatilaka (PhD 2019): Instructor, Mahidol University.
  • Jing Li (PhD 2017, with Kunal Agrawal): Assistant Professor, New Jersey Institute of Technology.
  • Bo Li (PhD 2015): Startup.
  • Chengjie Wu (PhD 2014): Research Scientist, Facebook.
  • Sisu Xi (PhD 2014, with Chris Gill): Software Engineer, Stripe.
  • Mo Sha (PhD 2014): Associate Professor, Florida International University. NSF CAREER Awardee
  • Abusayeed Saifullah (PhD 2014): Associate Professor, Wayne State University. NSF CAREER Awardee
  • Yong Fu (PhD 2013): Senior Machine Learning Engineer, Unity.
  • Greg Hackmann (PhD, 2011): Software Engineer, Apple.
  • Octav Chipara (PhD 2010, with Gruia-Catalin Roman) Associate Professor, University of Iowa. NSF CAREER Awardee
  • Chien-Liang Fok (PhD 2009, with Gruia-Catalin Roman): Researcher, Toyota Research Institute.
  • Sangeeta Bhattacharya (PhD 2008, with Gruia-Catalin Roman): Research Scientist, Intel Research (India).
  • Yuanfang Zhang (PhD 2008, with Chris Gill): Developer, Microsoft Research (Redmond).
  • Xiaorui Wang (PhD 2006): Professor, Ohio State University. NSF CAREER Awardee, IEEE Fellow
  • Guoliang Xing (PhD 2006): Professor, Chinese University of Hong Kong. NSF CAREER Awardee, IEEE Fellow
  • Qingfeng Huang (PhD 2003, with Gruia-Catalin Roman): Startup.


  • Outstanding Technical Achievement and Leadership Award, IEEE Technical Community on Real-Time Systems, 2022.
  • ACM Fellow, 2020.
  • IEEE Fellow, 2016.
  • Test of Time Award, ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems, 2022. [Paper]
  • Influential Paper Award, IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS), 2021. [Paper]
  • Distinguished Paper Award, Proceedings of the ACM on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable and Ubiquitous Technologies (PACM IMWUT), 2023. [Paper]
  • Best Paper Award for IoT Data Analytics, ACM/IEEE Conference on Internet of Things Design and Implementation (IoTDI), 2023. [Paper]
  • Outstanding Paper Award, International Conference on Real-Time Networks and Systems (RTNS), 2021.
  • ACM Distinguished Speaker, 2017-2020.
  • Best Paper Award, IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS), 2019.
  • Outstanding Paper Award, IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS), 2016.
  • Distinguished Paper Award, American Medical Informatics Association Annual Symposium (AMIA), 2015.
  • Best Paper Award, IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), 2014.
  • Outstanding Paper Award, Euromicro Conference on Real-Time Systems (ECRTS), 2013.
  • Best Student Paper Award, IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), 2011.
  • Best Paper Award, International Conference on Distributed Computing in Sensor Systems (DCOSS), 2006.
  • NSF CAREER Award, 2005.
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award, Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia, 2000.

Professional Services


Selected Conference Organization
Steering and Executive Committees