PLoP '96 Final Papers

The following is a list of all the papers that have been submitted to be considered in the final PLoP book review process. Please note that (1) we don't have online versions of all the papers and (2) the online versions of the papers are not up to date -- they are just there to give you an idea of what the papers are about. Therefore, please do not download them with the intent of actually reading them since they are totally out of date! All papers will be sent to reviewers via fedex.

For more information about the PLoPD book review process, please check out the PLoPD-96 WWW page.

  1. The Type Object Pattern (abstract) -- Bobby Woolf (bwoolf@ksccary.com) and Ralph Johnson (johnson@cs.uiuc.edu)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (17,10,14)

  2. The Manager Design Pattern (abstract) -- Peter Sommerlad (peter.sommerlad@zfe.siemens.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,5,8)

  3. Patterns for Legacy Systems' Migration to Object Technology -- Clazien Wezeman and Alan O'Callaghan

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,17,12)

  4. Patterns for three-tier client-server architectures (abstract) -- Amund Aarsten (amund@athena.polito.it), et al

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,3,5)

  5. Multimedia Data Exchange Agent -- Chrystalla C. Alexandrou (cschryst@turing.cs.ucy.ac.cy) and George A. Papadopoulos (george@turing.cs.ucy.ac.cy)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,12,1)

  6. Patterns for designing in teams -- Charles Weir

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,4,17)

  7. DB Cursor for Selects -- Reinhard Mueller (Reinhard.Mueller@nbgm.siemens.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,8,1)

  8. The Null Object Pattern (abstract) -- Bobby Woolf (bwoolf@ksccary.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,6,15)

  9. Propagator: A Family of Patterns (abstract) -- Peter H. Feiler and Walter F. Tichy (tichy@ira.uka.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,14,17)

  10. The Operator Design Pattern -- Application to Parallel Computation -- Jean-Lin Pacherie (pacherie@irisa.fr) and Jean-Marc Jezequel (jezequel@irisa.fr)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (10,16,8)

  11. Toward Pattern-Based Tools -- Bernd-Uwe Pagel (bernd-uwe.pagel@fernuni-hagen.de) and Mario Winter (mario.winter@fernuni-hagen.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,13,15)

  12. Acyclic Visitor (abstract) -- Robert C. Martin (rmartin@oma.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,15,8)

  13. Design Patterns for Dealing with Dual Inheritance Hierarchies in C++ -- Robert C. Martin (rmartin@oma.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,14,12)

  14. Distributed Batch: Awakening the 20,000 Megahertz Productivity Giant (abstract) -- Bruce Lombardi (lombardi@charm.net)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,8,16)

  15. A Diagnostic Model of Project Management (abstract) -- Alistair Cockburn (arc@acm.org)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (17,6,11)

  16. Some Patterns for Building Virtual Machines -- Eydun Eli Jacobsen (jacobsen@cs.auc.dk), Palle Nowak

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (6,13,15)

  17. PrivateThread: A Software Pattern for Autonomic Object Behavior (abstract) -- John W. Gilbert (gilbert@acm.org)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,6,16)

  18. A Pattern Language for Pattern Writing (abstract) -- Gerard Meszaros (gerard@osgcorp.com) and Jim Doble

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,6,15)

  19. A Formal Language for Design Patterns -- Ammon H. Eden, Joseph Gil and Amiram Yehudai

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,3,4)

  20. The Layered Agent Patterns (abstract) -- Elizabeth A. Kendall (kendall@rmit.edu.au) and Margaret T. Malkoun

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,11,12)

  21. Towards a Pattern Language for Hypermedia Applications (abstract) -- G. Rossi, D. Schwabe and A. Garrido (garrido@sol.info.unlp.edu.ar)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (10,11,9)

  22. BodyGuard: A Pattern for Object Distribution (abstract) -- Fernando Das Neves (babel17@sol.info.unlp.edu.ar) and Alejandra Garrido

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,10,11)

  23. Serializer (abstract) -- Dirk Riehle (Dirk.Riehle@ubs.com), Wolf Siberski, et al

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,6,17)

  24. Reusablity during Analysis with Domain, Control, and Policy Objects (abstract) -- Bindu Rama Rao (brr@mcs.com) and Lizette Velazquez (lizette.velazquez@lucent.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,12,9)

  25. Developing Form Style Windows (abstract) -- Mark Bradac (mark.bradac@att.com) and Becky Fletcher

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,3,4)

  26. Variations on the Visitor Pattern (abstract) -- Martin E. Nordberg III (mn@quintessoft.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,15,8)

  27. Patterns for Logging Diagnostic Messages (abstract) -- Neil B. Harrison (nbh@lucent.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (11,10,4)

  28. Multiparadigm Iteration Patterns (abstract) -- Charles D. Knutson (knutson@research.cs.orst.edu), Timothy A. Budd, and Curtis R. Cook.

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,6,17)

  29. Experiences - A Pattern Language for User Interface Design (abstract) -- Todd Coram (todd@btg.com) and Jim Lee

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (10,13,15)

  30. Using the Strategy Design Pattern to Compose Reliable Distributed Protocols -- Benoit Garbinato et al (bast@lse.epfl.ch)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (11,16,17)

  31. A Pattern Language for Porting Micro-kernels in Embedded Systems (abstract) -- Michel de Champlain (michel@cosc.canterbury.ac.nz)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (16,8,9)

  32. A Framework and Patterns for the Specifications of Reactive Systems -- Leonor Barroca, Pedro R. Henriques

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (7,11,16)

  33. Adaptive Pipeline: an Object Structural Pattern for Adaptive Applications (abstract) -- Edward J. Posnak, R. Greg Lavender (lavender@cs.utexas.edu), and Harrick M. Vin

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (11,16,9)

  34. PLOTS: pattern language of transport systems (abstract) -- Liping Zhao (liping@cs.rmit.edu.au) and Ted Foster (ted@class-sc.demon.co.uk)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,12,15)

  35. Requirements Analysis (abstract) -- Dan Rawsthorne (DRawstho@bdm.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,4,12)

  36. Relational Database Access Layers - A Pattern Language (abstract) -- Wolfgang Keller (wk@sdm.de), Jens Coldewey (jensc@sdm.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,3,10)

  37. Multilayer Class (abstract) -- Jens Coldewey (jensc@sdm.de), Wolfgang Keller (wk@sdm.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,12,15)

  38. Storyboard -- an Architectural Pattern for Multimedia Applications (abstract) -- Chrystalla C. Alexandrou (cschryst@turing.cs.ucy.ac.cy) and George A. Papadopoulos (george@turing.cs.ucy.ac.cy)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,11,10)

  39. Undertaker -- Bjorn Eiderback (bjorne@nada.kth.se)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,6,11)

  40. Connected Group -- Jiarong Li (li@nada.kth.se)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (6,11,14)

  41. Making Design Patterns explicit in FACE -- a Framework Adaptive Composition Environment -- Theo Dirk Meijler (meijler@iam.unibe.ch), Serge Demeyer, Robert Engel

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,8,9)

  42. Manager-Agent and Remote Operation: Two Key Patterns for Network Management Interfaces (abstract) -- Jean Tessier and Rudolf K. Keller (keller@iro.umontreal.ca)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (10,16,6)

  43. The Sponsor-Selector Pattern (abstract) -- Eugene Wallingford (wallingf@cs.uni.edu)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (14,13,17)

  44. The Selfish Class (abstract) -- Brian Foote (foote@cs.uiuc.edu) and Joseph W. Yoder (yoder@cs.uiuc.edu)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,16,13)

  45. Evolving Frameworks: A Pattern Language for Developing Object-Oriented Frameworks (abstract) -- Don Roberts (droberts@cs.uiuc.edu) and Ralph Johnson

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,10,17)

  46. Reports (abstract) -- John Brant (brant@cs.uiuc.edu) and Joseph W. Yoder (yoder@cs.uiuc.edu)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (2,3,4)

  47. Recurring Events for Calendars (abstract) -- Martin Fowler (100031.3311@compuserve.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,6,15)

  48. Patterns of Assocation Objects in Large Scale Business Systems -- Lorranie L. Boyd (lorrie_boyd@mail.amsinc.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,10,11)

  49. System Test Pattern Language (abstract) -- David E. DeLano (delanod@agcs.com) and Linda Rising (risingl@agcs.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,10,11)

  50. Patterns of Efficient Prolog Programs (abstract) -- Robert Hanmer (r.s.hanmer@lucent.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (4,6,9)

  51. Customizable Object Recovery Pattern (abstract) -- Antonio Rito da Silva et al (Rito.Silva@inesc.pt)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,16,9)

  52. Customizable Object Synchronization Pattern -- Antonio Rito da Silva et al (Rito.Silva@inesc.pt)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (9,16,8)

  53. Late Creation--A Creational Pattern (abstract) -- Dirk Baeumer (Dirk_Baeumer@rwg.e-mail.com) and Dirk Riehle (Dirk.Riehle@ubs.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,15,8)

  54. Bureaucracy-A Composite Pattern -- Dirk Riehle (Dirk.Riehle@ubs.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,3,7)

  55. State Patterns -- Paul Dyson and Bruce Anderson

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,14,12)

  56. The Command class for the Java AWT (abstract) -- Jan Newmarch (jan@pandonia.canberra.edu.au)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,7,17)

  57. Business Requirements Patterns Via Events/Use Cases (abstract) -- Suzanne Robertson (100065.2304@compuserve.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,4,6)

  58. A Methodology for Constructing a Design Handbook for Object Oriented Systems (abstract) -- D Janaki Ram (djram@iitm.ernet.in), K N Anantha Raman, K N Guruprasad and Suchitra Raman

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,5,7)

  59. Function Object - Behavior Composition with Black Boxes -- Thomas Kuehne (kuehne@isa.informatik.th-darmstadt.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,8,7)

  60. Configuration Management Patterns (abstract) -- Steve Berczuk (berczuk@optimax.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,12,7)

  61. Framework Patterns -- Andreas Rueping (rueping@fzi.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (6,13,15)

  62. Found Objects -- A Small Pattern Language for Finding Objects within Designs -- James Noble (kjx@mri.mq.edu.au)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (13,15,10)

  63. Points & Deviations - A pattern language for fire alarm systems (abstract) -- Peter Molin (Peter.Molin@ide.hk-r.se) and Lennart Ohlsson (Lennart.Ohlsson@ide.hk-r.se)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,12,15)

  64. Double-Checked Locking - An Object Behavioral Pattern for Initializing and Accessing Thread-safe Objects Efficiently (abstract) -- Douglas C. Schmidt (schmidt@cs.wustl.edu) and Timothy H. Harrison

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,8,17)

  65. Acceptor and Connector -- Douglas C. Schmidt (schmidt@cs.wustl.edu)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,7,9)

  66. Asynchronous Completion Token - An Object Behavioral Pattern for Asynchronous Event Handling -- Timothy H. Harrison (harrison@cs.wustl.edu), Douglas C. Schmidt, and Irfan Pyarali

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (8,7,9)

  67. External Polymorphism -- An Object Structural Pattern for Transparently Extending C++ Concrete Data Types (abstract) -- Chris Cleeland (chris@envision.com), Douglas C. Schmidt, and Timothy H. Harrison

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,13,17)

  68. Notification Server -- by Robert Hirschfeld

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,10,16)

  69. Convenience Methods -- by Robert Hirschfeld

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (3,12,13)

  70. Three-Tier Distribution Architecture (abstract) -- Robert Hirschfeld (hirschfeld@rz.tu-ilmenau.de)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,7,16)

  71. Patterns for Cooperation (abstract) -- Amund Aarsten (amund@athena.polito.it)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (5,7,8)

  72. Service Configurator -- A Pattern for Dynamic Configuration and Reconfiguration of Communication Services (abstract) -- Prashant Jain (pjain@cs.wustl.edu) and Douglas C. Schmidt

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,7,5)

  73. Recursive Control: An Architectural Pattern for Large Real-Time Software (abstract) -- Bran Selic (bran@objectime.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (11,16,7)

  74. Design Patterns at Different Scales (abstract) -- R.J.A. Buhr (buhr@sce.carleton.ca)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (12,7,9)

  75. The Facet Pattern (abstract) -- Erich Gamma (gamma@ifa.ch)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,9,14)

  76. The Distributed Symmetric IPC (The Client-Server Rule) -- Dr. Ilir Kondo (Ilir.Kondo@siemens.at) and Omer Karacan (Oemer.Karacan@siemens.at)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (7,9,17)

  77. Null Object -- Bruce Anderson (bruce_anderson@uk.ibm.com)

    Currently selected by 3 reviewers (1,9,12)


Back to PLoP '96 home page.