Sloan Marketing: They Try to Look Legitimate
I've been
spammed by Sloan Marketing and their affiliates since June 2003.
They try really hard to look like a legitimate marketing company, but
I have no doubt that they're just another spammer. For example, go to
their website and try
their nifty "Live Help". Ask the live correspondent for a phone
number to be removed from their lists. You'll likely get
800-882-4312. Try it, it's a voicemail system. Leave a message, if
you like, but it will have no effect.
Here is one of their earlier spams;
it suggests to me that they're in the spam business. Looks like
they mistakenly left the reference to Sloan Marketing in the From:
header.
Their FAQ has a
question that asks if they sell contact lists. The FAQ does not
answer that question! It does say that "SloanMarketing is a strong
supporter of responsible email use and permission-based email
marketing". I know that to be simply false. I've got a nice
collection of evidence that shows that they have ignored my revocation
of permission to send me marketing email. Furthermore, I never
granted them that permission in the first place; so much for
"permission-based email".
Sloan Marketing doesn't comply with California's
anti-spam law, even though they do business in California (1819
Polk St., #292, San Franciso, CA 94109, and formerly 1288 Columbus
Ave, #114, San Francisco, CA 94114). I got that address in spam from
eBizChannel as well as directly from Eric Stevens at +1 415-240-4066,
who was allegedly acting as a "Client Services Consultant" of Sloan
Marketing. I got that phone number, +1 415-240-4066, from Sloan
Marketing's Live Help.
TOASTEDspam has lots of
hits on Sloan Marketing.
Here are some alleged names of representatives of Sloan Marketing and
their affiliates:
- James Anderson
- Isabella Andrew
- Kevin Brown
- Bryan Davenport
- Henry Davis
- Ben Dixon
- Ann Edwin
- Steve Erickson
- Olivia Ethan
- Elisabeth Francis
- Tom Gibson
- Emma Jacob
- Dave Lawson
- Gary M?
- Hannah Matthew
- Jessica Parker
- Melissa Parker
- Josh Pearson
- Adam Radley
- Sophia Roberts
- Stanley Roberts
- Eric Stevens
- Alan Stewart
- Amy Taylor
- Nadia Taylor
- Tony Phillips
- Hazel Smith
- Matt Turner
- Harry Vellal
- Monica Vernon
- Sandra Walker
- Sean Williams
They have used the following SMTP servers:
- 202-149-57-51.static.exatt.net (HELO ibm-server.stech) [202.149.57.51]
- 202-149-57-53.static.exatt.net (HELO BACKUP1.stech.com) [202.149.57.53]
- 202-149-57-55.static.exatt.net (HELO strategi-jt8rg8.stech.com) [202.149.57.55]
- 202-149-57-58.static.exatt.net (HELO dimension1.stech.com) [202.149.57.58]
- 202-149-57-59.static.exatt.net (HELO BACKUP2.stech.com) [202.149.57.59]
- 202-149-57-60.static.exatt.net (HELO ibm-server.stech) [202.149.57.60]
- 216-55-164-35.dedicated.abac.net [216.55.164.35]
- 343440.ds.nac.net [66.246.220.9]
- data-sys64.stech.com (unknown [122.167.104.177])
- data [203.196.195.99]
- data [203.124.208.202]
- dedicated [207.234.185.233]
- maila1.stech.com [202.88.172.252]
- maila1.stech.com [203.195.210.131]
- mailoutserver.stech.com [203.195.210.130]
- mailoutserver.stech.com [202.88.172.252]
- mailoutserver.STRATEGIC.COM [202.88.172.252]
- mailoutserver.STRATEGIC.COM [203.195.210.131]
- mta1.trustesender.com [64.22.75.213]
- nameservices.net [216.117.134.151]
- nameservices.net (HELO STRATSERVER) [66.219.102.46]
- server-1.stech.com [202.88.172.221]
- servmail.stech.com [202.88.172.252]
- server1.STRATEGIC.COM [203.195.210.150]
- servmail.stech.com [202.88.172.252]
- MAAILL2 (nameservices.net [66.219.105.124])
- STRATSERVER (nameservices.net [66.219.102.46])
- unknown (HELO camp3.stech.com) [59.92.129.166]
- unknown (HELO camp3.stech.com) [59.92.147.143]
- unknown (HELO soscam2.stech.com) [59.92.149.93]
- unknown [59.92.166.224]
- unknown [203.196.195.101]
- unknown [203.196.195.108]
- unknown [203.196.195.109]
- unknown (HELO xlhost-gr3x1jlr) [209.190.28.130]
- WEBHOSTINGPROFESSIONALS (nameservices.net [216.117.177.139])
Possible affiliate or related domains and identities include, with
current domain registrar listed in brackets:
- 6FigureChampions
- b2bmarketingworld.com [Register.com]
- b4bsmails.com [PSI-USA]
- bmail2b.com [Spot Domain LLC]
- callorbit.com [Register.com]
- cmail1.com [GoDaddy.com]
- datachampions.net [Register.com]
- eBizChannel@mmaill1.com
- ecmails9.com [Register.com]
- emailappenders.com [Register.com]
- emailappenders.net [Register.com]
- eventgain.com [Register.com]
- eventgain.net [Register.com]
- listgalaxy.com [Register.com]
- listgalaxy.net [Register.com]
- listorbit.net [Register.com]
- listssource.com [Register.com]
- maile1.com [domain no longer registered]
- maili0.com [Basic Fusion, Inc]
- maili1.com [Register.com]
- maili9.com [Register.com]
- maill1.com [domain no longer registered]
- mailm9.com [domain no longer registered]
- mailr1.com [Innerwise, DBA ItsYourDomain.com]
- mails99.com [Register.com]
- mails9.com [domain no longer registered]
- mmaill1.com [domain no longer registered]
- optinbuilder.biz
- optinbuilder.net [Register.com]
- optinbuilders.biz [Register.com]
- optinbuilders.net [Register.com]
- prospectsales.info [GoDaddy.com}
- reach2all.com [Register.com]
- reallists.com [Register.com]
- RecruitingJunction.com
[Register.com]
- recruitinguniverse.com [Register.com]
- salesbrowser.com [Register.com]
- salesbrowser.net [Register.com]
- salesuniverse.biz [Register.com]
- salesuniverse.com [Register.com]
- sixchannels.com [Register.com]
- sixchannels.net [Register.com]
- sloanmarketing.com [Register.com]
- smails1.com [Register.com]
- surveyregister.com [Register.com]
In addition to the phone numbers mentioned above, they have also used
800-588-8615. That number is used by both Sales
Universe (see below) and Email
Appenders. Sales Universe uses an address of 2370 Market Street #
174, San Francisco, CA 94114.
All was quiet for a while. Then on 17 August 2004, I received a
spam with a suspicious address: Member Preference Dept, 1288 Columbus
Ave, #114, San Francisco, CA 94113. The phone number was
800-882-4312. Links in the message were to maili0.com and
surveyregister.com.
The current whois information for surveyregister.com shows the same
administrative, billing, contact, and registrant phone number as
that of sloanmarketing.com. http://www.surveyregister.com immediately
redirects to http://www.maila1.com, which has the identical address
and phone number as sloanmarketing.com.
maili0.com has an incomplete phone number in their whois info.
I called the sender of this last spam, and they said that they hired
salesuniverse.com for this marketing campaign. salesuniverse.com has
a very slick website, and even a web page that has
their opinions on the CAN-Spam act. This website supports live
help, which seems common to others referenced in this thread. It also
mentions that they're headquartered
in San Francisco.
A bit of searching for salesuniverse.com turned up another interesting
connection: it mentions alans@salesuniverse.com.
Could the "S" stand for "Stewart"? And it also mentions that the
spammer sent mail to an address that did not opt in.
Yes, the "S" stand for "Stewart": Alan
Stewart associated his name and email address here. And
6figurechampions is mentioned as well. (That page no longer shows
those associations. It used to.)
salesuniverse.biz appears to be the same company as salesuniverse.com:
the web sites look the same.
And the web keeps growing: the 6figurechampions listing is from Chris
Harris, chrish@6figurechampions. An old Salesuniverse page had a
quote from Chris Harris of Recuriting [sic] Junction. That completes
one cycle: Recruiting
Junction first spammed me back in June 2003.
22 December 2004: I got yet another spam from Sales
Universe. This one again states:
You are receiving this mail because you either subscribed at one of
our websites or you subscribed with a third party. We sincerely hope
you enjoyed receiving this mailing, but if you received it in error,
and if you don't wish to receive any further messages from us please
follow the link and you will be automatically excluded from any future
mailings.
That's completely false, of course. The message pulls images from
www.databrowser.com, for what that's worth.
25 January 2005: And yet another spam. This time, it's for
eventgain.net .
07 February 2005: And yet another one. It's from sixchannels.net .
Both eventgain.net and sixchannels.net list Irish Domains for all of
their Whois contacts. The domain registrar for both is register.com .
Spring 2005: datachampions.net has been spamming me this Spring.
December 2007: the spam from Sloan Marketing and affiliates comes and goes.
It has been quiet for a while.
September 2008: and then another one, from listgalaxy.net. It has
800-870-3107 for Josh Pearson's phone number. A Google search on that
number shows a bunch of hits that mention Sloan Marketing. The spam
has a couple of links to tracking.leadcentral.us pages, including the
unsubscribe link. Another new affiliation is the SMTP server that
originated the message: mta1.trustesender.com [64.22.75.213]. The
whois information for trustesender.com includes the
registrar99@hotmail.com email address common to many of the other
domains mentioned above.
Check out this Toasted Spam article.
David Levine
Last modified: Mon Feb 7 07:05:48 CST 2005